South Korea to give governance tips to 4 African states

ADDIS ABABA (AA) – Four East African countries on Wednesday signed a memorandum of understanding with South Korea aimed at bolstering cooperation in the field of public governance.

According to the agreement, the four African nations stand to benefit from South Korea’s experience in e-governance, bridging development gaps between rural and urban areas, and narrowing gaps between the rich and poor.

South Korea signed the memorandum with Ethiopia, Uganda, Rwanda and Tanzania. Kenya, too, is expected to join the agreement later on Wednesday.

The memorandum will remain in effect for two years as of the date of signing, with the option of extending it further.

The document signing followed a daylong workshop in which the issue of public governance took center stage.

Government Administration and Home Affairs Minister Chong Jong-sup signed the agreement for South Korea.

Ethiopian Deputy Prime Minister for Good Governance Aster Mamo said her country had “learnt a lesson” from South Korea’s experience in social development.

“This regional initiative will help us build our capacity and accelerate and strengthen East African regional integration on the basis of our shared values,” the Ethiopian official said.

Chong Jong-sup, for his part, said his country had managed to become the “most innovative nation in the world” after having been one of the poorest a mere four decades ago.

© 2015, Addis Getachew. All rights reserved. – The views expressed here are purely those of the author and not necessarily those of the publishers. – Newstime Africa content cannot be reproduced in any form – electronic or print – without prior consent of the Publishers. Copyright infringement will be pursued and perpetrators prosecuted.

57,929 total views, no views today

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.