Malawi Electoral Commission – Commencement of registration for phase six covering Lilongwe City, Chitipa and Dowa districts, Mchinji South and Southwest constituencies and Dedza West, Central, Central East, Southwest and Northwest constituencies

Malawi Electoral Commission

Malawi Electoral Commission

The Malawi Electoral Commission is informing the general public that the sixth phase of registration will run from October 15 to 28, 2013. This phase will cover Lilongwe City, Chitipa and Dowa districts, Mchinji South and Southwest constituencies and Dedza West, Central, Central East, Southwest and Northwest constituencies.
The Commission is informing the public that Dowa Ngala constituency will be covered under phase six and not phase seven as initially planned. This change has been effected to accommodate requests from stakeholders that Dowa district should be covered in one phase and not split.
The public should also take note that Mchinji West Constituency which was initially planned to fall under phase six will be covered under phase seven which will run from 1 to 14 November, 2013 together with the remaining constituencies in the district.
Registration centres will open to the public at 8AM and close at 4PM on all days including weekends and on Tuesday, October 15, 2013 which is the Mothers’ Day public holiday.
The Commission is informing the public that it has mobilized enough equipment and personnel for the exercise to run smoothly. However, there has been a logistical challenge in paying registration staff in Chitipa which may affect opening time for some centres on the first day. The Commission has planned that any centre that fails to open on the first day or any day during the registration period will have an automatic extension equivalent to the period that it was non- operational. The law requires that registration centres should open for 14 days.
Persons eligible to register are Malawians who have attained the age of 18 or will attain the age of 18 on the polling day which is May 20, 2014. For non-Malawians, apart from being of age, they should have been ordinarily resident in the country for the last seven years. Refugees and asylum seekers are not eligible to register.
The Commission is also reminding the general public that electoral laws allow eligible persons to register where they were born, stay, carryout business or work. The Commission is encouraging all registration staff and monitors to ensure that all persons who register at the centres meet these criteria.
Should there be any need for clarification contact the undersigned on 0 999 274 304 or email .
Sangwani Mwafulirwa Director, Media and Public Relations

© 2013, Newstime Africa. All rights reserved. – The views expressed here are purely those of the author and not necessarily those of the publishers. – Newstime Africa content cannot be reproduced in any form – electronic or print – without prior consent of the Publishers. Copyright infringement will be pursued and perpetrators prosecuted.

12,164 total views, no views today

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.